With everything you have on your plate, fulfilling your VIRGINIA CLE should be easy.
You are always looking for ways to grow your practice while mitigating risk. ALPS brings more than 30 years of claims experience to help law firms prevent claims before they occur. We understand that CLE in Virginia is a requirement, but ALPS is committed to providing substantive continuing legal education to help our policyholders and the Virginia legal community as a whole be more successful.
ALPS is proud to be the Virginia State Bar-endorsed malpractice insurance carrier, offering high-quality, accredited Virginia CLE with both live webinars and on-demand seminars on a number of relevant risk management topics, including many Ethics courses. ALPS policyholders can access any Virginia CLE at a discounted tuition.
We invite you to peruse our Virginia CLE library now.
virginia mcle requirments
Credit hours required: 12 hours per reporting period
Specialty credits required: 2 hours of professionalism or legal ethics credit per reporting period
Length of reporting period: 1 year
Compliance date: October 31
Compliance Reporting date: December 15 (
Compliance group: All attorneys report annually.
Minutes per credit hour: 60 minutes. To calculate credit for a specific program, divide the total length of the program in minutes by 60 and round up or down to the nearest half hour.
Attendance Reporting Procedure: Per the process determined by the Virginia MCLE Board, for each ABA CLE program attended or each ABA CLE program attended, attorneys must their send certificate of attendance to the Virginia MCLE Board upon receipt of the certificate from the ABA. Please mark the sessions attended on the ABA certification of attendance and submit to the Virginia MCLE office for processing. The ABA does not send certificates of attendance to the Virginia MCLE board. View details on certifiying compliance with Virginia.
Virginia MCLE Requirements (from the American Bar Association website)